It provides huge market prospects for Kazakhstan.

Kazakhstan is a very large country with different landscapes and climate zones. However, we still have places where no tourist has set foot.
Therefore, we develop projects in the field of ecological tourism based on communities (Community Based Tourism) in accordance with the principles of rational use of natural resources (Leave No Trace).

If the topic of ecotourism development is close to you in spirit or occupation, write to us about your ideas and plans.

The Fund is ready to support interesting projects. Let's work together!
Head of Tourism Program
Anatoly Savichev
“School of Hospitality”
Development of tourism products
Landscaping
Guest houses
As part of the module, we teach guest house owners the basics necessary to get started. We talk about minimum standards, features of tourists, legal and financial aspects, catering standards and much more.

We started helping guest houses from the Katon-Karagay district. The nature of the area is unique. We were surprised to find that the share of tourism in the region's economy is less than 1%. To change this situation, together with the community of the area, we have developed a tourism development strategy. Now we are already scaling up the tourism development program in the Ulan district.

To participate in the program, you must submit an application and pass an interview. The Fund issues grants and provides methodological and educational support.
16
Grants issued
2
Rural areas covered
22 500 000
Total amount of grant support
Feedback on the program
Evgeny Mikhailovich Yurchenkov is a former geologist who worked in Altai in his youth. Later, together with others who shared his vision, he initiated the creation of the Katon-Karagai National Park. Evgeny Mikhailovich worked a lot with social and environmental programs, including developing a program for the study and conservation of the snow leopard. In the early 90s, he organized a small travel agency and a guest house in the village of Uryl.

“Mikhalych’s Inn” guest house is located 420 km from Ust-Kamenogorsk in the village of Uryl. “Mikhalych’s Inn” is a typical Altai farm with a bathhouse, a garden, and domestic animals. In addition to accommodation, Evgeny organizes different tours of varying complexity: a car tour (in combination with trekking), horseback riding (one-day and multi-day tours).
Evgeny Mikhailovich Yurchenkov
с. Урыль, Катон-Карагайский район

“I would like to note how competent and eager to work Fund’s management are. They are wonderful people and it is a great pleasure to work with them.”
Zarina Mastikbayeva and her mother Saule decided to move to Katon-Karagay in 2017. They bought a house in the center of Katon and decided to organize an ecovillage.

Saule organized a School of Health for Rural Women and opened group yoga classes. Zarina organizes retreats, trips and expeditions in Katon-Karagay. Together with the Mastikbaev family, you can go on car, hiking, horseback and even helicopter tours.

In 2019, the family opened the ALTAI a`RAI guest house, which welcomes guests from different cities of Kazakhstan and from all over the world.
Zarina Mastikbayeva with her mother
с. Катон-Карагай, Катон-Карагайский район

“I want the region to develop, flourish and attract conscious people. Those who understand that the lack of luxury conditions here is compensated by a more meaningful luxury: the vivid life and pristine nature.”
Olga Skrynnik and her husband moved from Almaty after falling in love with the nature of the Katon-Karagay National Park. Yasnaya Polyana guest house is located 392 km from Ust-Kamenogorsk, on the territory of the Katon-Karagay National Park, 8 km from the village of Uryl.

In 2016, the family began construction of the Yasnaya Polyana guest house. Today, Yasnaya Polyana is a large wooden frame, a bathhouse and three aiyls (an ethnic house for 3 people).

In addition to accommodation and meals, the owners of the house also offer car and hiking tours to the most beautiful corners of Katon-Karagay, art therapy, photo shoots and master classes from Altai artisans.

The Fund provided Yasnaya Polyana with grant support, allocating money to repair the house and bring it up to standard. In addition, the owners of the house were trained under the programs of the School of Hospitality.
Оlga Alekseevna Skrynnik
посёлок Урыль, Катон-Карагайский район

“Several years ago I came to Katon-Karagay in Altai, visited Lake Yazevoye, Markakol, Tsarskaya Valley, and was fascinated by these places. I really want everyone to be able to see and feel the magic of Altai.”
Catering Preparation Course
In this module, we teach the basics of sanitation and food safety in catering, record keeping and customer service.
In 2020-2021, we conducted “Altai damy” off-site courses for the owners of 5 guest houses and 16 catering facilities in the Katon-Karagay district. As part of the program, entrepreneurs received recommendations on kitchen equipment and developed a unique menu.
11 guides
Trained in 2020
15 guides
Trained in 2021
Basic guide training course
This module provides basic information for guides working in rural areas. We teach the basics of working with tourists and crisis management, tell how to make a tourist plan, work with partners and suppliers, and prepare for out-of-town multi-day tours.

We conducted a course for guides on the UNWTO system, owners of places of accommodation for foreign tourists and a course for employees of the Katon-Karagay SNNP on working with tour operators and tourists.
Guides Accompanying on Horse Trails
This module aims to educate residents of the area about the standards of horse trails. We teach how to properly and safely provide horse riding services, tell how to communicate with tourists and choose the right route. In 2021, we trained 8 people and issued saddles as an in-kind grant. In 2022, it is planned to purchase another 8-10 sets of cavalry saddles.
Shubaragash
Sarymsakty
Development of tourist identity of the destination
While forming the tourist identity of the area, we analyze, shape the image, attract focus groups from the community and the public sector and foreign tour operators. Tourism identity development includes messages and semantic core, logo, slogan, colors and shapes.

To create a high-quality identity, it is necessary to take into account the culture, nature and history of the destination. Based on the identity, we develop draft designs for the implementation of soft infrastructure*.
*Soft infrastructure is the creation of comfortable conditions for tourists and travelers. This concept includes the improvement and marking of trails, the construction of bivouac glades, the construction of mountain shelters and visit-centers.
Tourism product development
We are developing a tourism product for foreign tourists together with one of the largest tour operators in Kazakhstan, ACT Kazakhstan. The development process consists of analysis, field work, and product development/packaging.

ACT developed 15 tourism products (horse, trekking, cycling, fishing, extreme) and recommendations for tour operators to organize accommodation (mountain huts, bivouacs, etc.) with the application of GPS coordinates and the development of soft infrastructure.
Improvement of trails in the Katon-Karagay district
The Fund, together with experts, develops working projects for the improvement of trails and routes. This also includes the development and installation of signs, information boards, bivouacs, mountain shelters and much more.

In 2021, we examined 2 hiking trails with a total length of more than 200 km in the Katon-Karagay district. In 2022, we plan to install 35 information boards and 35 signs and equip 7 bivouac glades.

Экологический туризм — самый быстроразвивающийся сектор туристкой индустрии. На его долю приходится 25% мирового туризма. По данным Всемирной туристской организации, число экотуристов увеличивается ежегодно на 20%.

Что это означает для Казахстана? Огромные перспективы рынка.

Казахстан — очень большая страна, с разными ландшафтами и климатическими зонами. И у нас до сих пор есть места, где не ступала нога туриста. Поэтому мы развиваем проекты в сфере экологического туризма, основанного на сообществах (Community Based Tourism) в соответствии с принципами рационального использования природных ресурсов (Leave No Trace).

Если тема развития экотуризма близка вам по духу или по роду занятий, напишите нам о своих идеях и планах. Фонд готов поддерживать интересные проекты. Давайте работать вместе!

Руководитель программы по туризму
Анатолий Савичев
«Школа гостеприимства»
Разработка турпродуктов
Благоустройство
Гостевые дома
В рамках программы мы обучаем владельцев гостевых домов основам и стандартам, юридическим и налоговым аспектам туристического бизнеса.

Помогать гостевым домам мы начали с Катон-Карагайского района. Природа района уникальна и неповторима и мы очень удивились, обнаружив, что доля туризма в Катон-Карагае занимает менее 1% в экономике района. Чтобы помочь изменить эту ситуацию, совместно с сообществом района мы разработали стратегию развития туризма, основанную на сообществах – Community Based Тourism (CBT). Сейчас мы уже масштабируем программу «Гостевые дома» в Уланском районе.

Для участия в программе необходимо подать заявку и пройти собеседование. Фонд по программе выдаёт гранты, оказывает методическую и образовательную поддержку.
16
Грантов выдано
2
Сельских района охвачено
22 500 000
Общая сумма грантовой поддержки
Отзывы о программе
Евгений Михайлович Юрченков — бывший геолог. В конце 1980-ых он работал в предгорьях горы Белуха и владел турфирмой близ села Урыль. Позже вместе с единомышленниками организовал Катон-Карагайский Национальный парк. Евгений Михайлович много работал с социальными и природоохранными программами, в том числе разрабатывал программу по изучению и сохранению снежного барса.

Гостевой дом «Подворье Михалыча» расположен в 420 км от Усть-Каменогорска в селе Урыль. «Подворье Михалыча» — это типичное алтайское хозяйство: с баней, огородом и домашней живностью. Помимо проживания, Евгений Михайлович организует туры различной сложности: авто (в сочетании с трекингом), конные (однодневные и многодневные).
Евгений Михайлович Юрченков
с. Урыль, Катон-Карагайский район

“Хочу отметить компетентность и желание работать людей, кто возглавляет Фонд. Замечательные люди, с которыми приятно и грамотно работать. Низкий им поклон!”
Зарина Мастикбаева вместе с мамой Сауле решились на переезд в Катон-Карагай в 2017 году. Купили дом в центре Катона и решили организовать экопоселение.

Сауле организовала Школу здоровья для сельских женщин и открыла групповые занятия йогой. Зарина занимается организацией ретритов, путешествий и экспедиций по Катон-Карагаю. Вместе с семьей Мастикбаевых можно отправиться в автомобильные, пешие, конные и даже вертолетные туры.

В 2019 году семья открыла гостевой дом «АЛТАЙ а`РАЙ», который принимает гостей из разных городов Казахстана и со всего мира.
Зарина Мастикбаева с мамой
с. Катон-Карагай, Катон-Карагайский район

“Хочется, чтобы регион развивался, расцветал и притягивал к себе осознанных людей. Тех, кто понимает, что здесь нет люксовых условий, но тут есть другая роскошь — живая жизнь и первозданная природа.
Мы хотим создать пространство не только для гостей, но и для местных жителей, в планах – сельский коворкинг.”
Ольга Скрынник вместе с мужем переехала из Алматы, влюбившись в природу Катон-Карагайского Национального парка. Гостевой дом «Ясная Поляна» расположен на 392 км от Усть-Каменогорска, на территории Катон-Карагайского Национального парка, в 8-ми км от села Урыль.

В 2016 году семья начала строительство гостевого дома «Ясная Поляна». На сегодняшний день «Ясная Поляна» — это большой деревянный сруб, баня и три аила (этнический домик на 3 человека).

Кроме проживания и питания, хозяева дома также предлагают авто и пешие туры к красивейшим уголкам Катон-Карагая, арт-терапию, фотосессии и мастер-классы от алтайских ремесленников.

Фонд оказал «Ясной Поляне» грантовую поддержку, выделив деньги на ремонт дома и приведение его в соответствие стандартам. Кроме того, владельцы дома проходили обучение по программам «Школы гостеприимства».

Ольга Алексеевна Скрынник
посёлок Урыль, Катон-Карагайский район

“Несколько лет назад я попала в Катон-Карагай на Алтае, посетила озеро Язевое, Маркаколь, Царскую долину и была очарована этими местами. Очень захотелось, чтобы не только я, но и любой желающий смог увидеть и почувствовать волшебство Алтая.”
Курс подготовки объектов общественного питания
В этом модуле мы учим основам санитарии и пищевой безопасности при организации общественного питания, ведению учёта и работе с клиентами. В 2020-2021 г. мы провели выездные курсы “Алтай дәмі” для собственников 5 гостевых домов и 16 объектов общественного питания в Катон-Карагайском районе. В рамках программы предприниматели получили рекомендации по оборудованию кухни и разработали уникальное меню.
11 гидов
Обучено в 2020 году
15 гидов
Прошли обучение в 2021 году
Начальный курс подготовки гидов
Этот модуль посвящен базовой информации для гидов, работающих в сельской местности. Мы обучаем основам работы с туристами и кризисному менеджменту, рассказываем как составлять туристический план, как работать с партнёрами и поставщиками, как готовиться в загородным многодневным турам.

Мы провели курс для гидов по системе UNWTO, собственников мест размещения по приему иностранных туристов и курс для сотрудников Катон-Карагайского ГНПП по работе с туроператорами и туристами.
Сопровождающие на конных маршрутах
Этот модуль направлен на обучение жителей района стандартам на конных маршрутах. Мы учим как правильно и безопасно оказывать услуги конных походов, рассказываем как коммуницировать с туристами и правильно подбирать маршрут. В 2021 году мы обучили 8 человек и выдали седла в качестве натурного гранта. В 2022 году планируется закуп еще 8-10 комплектов кавалерийских сёдел.
Шубарагаш
Сарымсакты
Разработка туристской айдентики дестинации
Формируя туристскую айдентику района, мы проводим анализ, формируем образ, привлекаем фокус-группы из сообщества и госсектора и иностранных туроператоров. Разработка туристской айдентики включает месседжи и смысловое ядро, логотип, слоган, цвета и фигуры.

Чтобы создать качественную айдентику, необходимо учитывать особенности культуры, природы и историю дестинации. На основе айдентики мы разрабатываем эскизные проекты по внедрению мягкой инфраструктуры*.
*Мягкая инфраструктура — это создание комфортных условийдля туристов и путешественников. Это понятие включает в себя благоустройство и разметку троп, строительство бивуачных полян, строительство горных приютов и visit-центров.
Разработка туристического продукта
Разработку туристического продукта для иностранных туристов мы ведём совместно с одним из крупнейших туроператоров Казахстана — АСТ Kazakhstan. Процесс разработки состоит из анализа, полевой работы и разработки / упаковки продуктов.

АСТ разработали 15 тур. продуктов (конные, трекинговые, велосипедные, рыболовные, экстремальные), а также разработали рекомендации для туроператоров для организации мест размещения (горные хижины, бивуаки и т.д.) с приложением GPS-точек и по развитию мягкой инфраструктуры.
Благоустройство троп в Катон-Карагайском районе
Фонд вместе с экспертами разрабатывает рабочие проекты по благоустройству троп и маршрутов. Сюда же входит разработка и установка указателей, информационных щитов, бивуачных полян, горных приютов и многого другого.

В 2021 году в Катон-Карагайском районе мы обследовали 2 туристические тропы общей протяжённостью более 200 км.

В 2022 году мы планируем установить 35 информационных щитов и 35 указателей, обустроить 7 бивуачных полян.